In 1959 the Hobart Olympic Pool was opened and included Tasmania’s first full diving tower. With no roof and no allocated dive pool, divers had to mix weather with swimmers in 1997 the Hobart Olympic Pool was replaced with a three-pool aquatic centre which hosted the Aged Nationals and an Elite Diving Program for a short period.

Launceston has also had an active diving community over the years, with several successful National Divers overcoming restricted training facilities at the Australian Maritime College.

Diving, water polo, and synchronised swimming were a part of the Tasmanian Amateur Swimming Association (TASA) from 1960 until 1982, when they formed their controlling bodies.

As well as Janet Weidenhofer (who was a diver in the British Empire Games in 1938, and was the first Tasmanian to represent Australia), other Tasmanians who represented Australia were Elizabeth Jack, and, Julie Kent.

A lack of adequate diving facilities forced Elizabeth Jack to move to Canada in 1975. Aged seventeen, she was selected as Australia's youngest-ever diver for the 1976 Olympics in the 3-meter and platform events. She continued to compete for Australia in international events and went on to become the Canadian head diving coach. Liz returned to Tasmania in 1990 as director of the Tasmanian Institute of Sport and in 2000, managed diving at the Sydney Olympics. After some time outside of Diving developing her executive carer, Liz was appointed to the Diving Australia Board in October 2019.

Julie Kent won the platform diving gold medal at the 1983 World Age Group Championships. She represented Australia at two Commonwealth Games, in 1982 and 1986, where she won a bronze medal She was also selected in two Olympic Games teams, in 1984 and 1988. At the national senior championships, Julie won fourteen medals.

In 2009, the Hobart Springboard Diving Club, Launceston Dining Club, and the Tasmanian Diving Association agreed to an amalgamation, and Diving Tasmania was incorporated. 

During the sport's history, many divers of all ages have competed at the National level and won medals in various disciplines. Additionally, we have had some highly qualified judges involved in many National events. In recent years, Jocelyn Burnett, Ebony Schueker-Rush, and Emily Meaney have represented Australia at International events. Jocelyn moved to South Australia, and Emily to Queensland to be part of state high-performance squads. Emily was awarded a Diving Scholarship at Purdue University in the United States and represented Australia at FINA Grand Prix and Summer Universiade events.

In June 2015, training sessions were placed on hold whilst negotiations were completed with the new management team of the Doone Kennedy Hobart Aquatic Centre (DKHAC) about re-establishing a new and improved "Diving" program. The planning process took longer than expected due to management and user groups being actively focused on the redevelopment of the Centre. In January 2017, diving returned to the pool deck with training programs but on a limited basis due to coach availability.

In late 2019, Liz Jack was appointed to the Diving Australia Board.

Unfortunately, the Covid-19 pandemic closed down the Doone Kennedy Hobart Aquatic Centre in early 2020, and due to a slow return of aquatic sports back to the pool due to social distancing requirements, it allowed time for Diving Tasmania and Diving Australia to develop a new diving program that would be underpinned by having a full-time coach appointed.  

July 2021 saw the commencement of the new program (supported by Diving Australia) on a restricted basis whilst a coach recruitment process was undertaken. In August 2021, Diving Australia announced the appointment of Jesse Carver (from Queensland) as Program Coach/Co-ordinator.

Emily Meaney represented Australia on the 10-meter platform at the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

In March 2023, a new club structure commenced with the launch of the Tasmanian Diving Academy Incorporated, which will be responsible for all diving classes and athlete pathways.